» » Ensemble Pearl - Ensemble Pearl

Ensemble Pearl - Ensemble Pearl download mp3

Ensemble Pearl - Ensemble Pearl download mp3
Ensemble Pearl
Ensemble Pearl
MP3 album size:
1508 mb
Other formats:
4.5 ✪

Ensemble Pearl Ensemble Pearl, released 19 March 2013 1. ghost parade 2. painting on a corpse 3. wray 4. island epiphany 5. giant 6. sexy angle The Pearl of our dreams has arrived in real life, courtesy of the cosmic union of Atsuo, Kurihara, Herzog and O'Malley. Amplified rock drops and ripples, auras radiate and fade away into cloudforms, through which lightning bolts.

Ensemble Pearl came together to record material that Sunn 0)))'s Stephen O'Malley had written for the production of director and choreographer Giesele Vienne's This Is How You Will Disappear, with text by poet and novelist Dennis Cooper and other serial music by DACM's Peter Rehberg (not represented here). The band O'Malley assembled for this recording includes Michio Kurihara of Ghost, Boris drummer Atsuo, and William Herzog from Jesse Sykes & the Sweet Hereafter, with participation from string players Eyvind Kang and Timba Harris. Given its slow, unraveling pace.

Listen to music from Ensemble Pearl like Ghost Parade, Sexy Angle & more. Find the latest tracks, albums, and images from Ensemble Pearl. New collaborative album featuring core members of Sunn O))) & Boris and ex-members of Ghost, Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter, White Heaven. Recorded by Masato Suzuki. Mixed by Randall Dunn.

But Ensemble Pearl, the quartet’s elegant six-song debut, serves as a spotlight for the plasticity of the musicians that made it, not their power. The brief Wray, for instance, recalls little else in the vast catalogues of Ensemble Pearl’s principals. For the bulk of the album, however, you’ll likely recognize O’Malley’s steely tone and deliberate progressions from Sunn O)))’s more spare moments. Those sessions only began to take shape as an album after the players realized how much they enjoyed working together, so, years later, they returned to the material and finished it stateside with producer and engineer Randall Dunn. Later this year, O’Malley reports, Ensemble Pearl will likely begin work on a new record with additional members.

Ensemble Pearl is certainly the type of album that can be left to rumble along inoffensively in the background, but as is the case with all great pieces of minimalistic composition, the music flickers brightest when apt attention is given. Despite the leaden pace the album trudges along in, each track has multiple salient events that act as beacons of light in the aural mist. The drone that creates the mist, however, is just as critical to creating and maintaining Ensemble Pearl's atmosphere. It may drag slightly in the latter half, but overall Ensemble Pearl's debut LP is incredibly absorbing. There's enough nuance in the composition for it to be more than just another wall-of-sound album, but not so much for it to feel weighted down.

Ensemble Pearl – Ensemble Pearl. Drag City) UK release date: 18 March 2013. by Sam Shepherd first published: 13 Mar 2013 in Albums. Of course anyone familiar with the members of this particular group will not be in the least bit surprised to hear that this is an album that deals predominantly in drones, soundscapes, and ever shifting tonal moods. Whilst some may find the drones of Giant akin to being pulled under by a wave of terror, there is in fact a careful balance between light and dark crafted by the subtle use of strings which soar, dive, sparkle and fade whilst the endless hum at the heart of the track aches endlessly.

With Earth‘s Dylan Carlson exploring slightly more gentle pastures and hobnobbing with the faeries, it’s perhaps no surprise to find Sunn O)))‘s Stephen O’Malley turning his hand to something equally introspective and on occasion – whisper it – quiet. Ensemble Pearl - Fairly Good, Based on 9 Critics.

Given its length and glacial pacing, Ensemble Pearl may not resonate for all fans of O'Malley's-or his collaborators-other projects, but it is a singular work that offers considerable rewards for those who will engage with it on its own terms. There are a few scorching solos throughout, but most of Ensemble Pearl witnesses the musicians paying more attention to atmosphere than technicality.


A1 Ghost Parade 5:45
A2 Painting On A Corpse 6:52
A3 Wray 4:42
B Island Epiphany 12:45
C Giant 10:16
D Sexy Angle 19:50

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0781484054412

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
DC544CD Ensemble Pearl Ensemble Pearl ‎(CD, Album) Drag City DC544CD US 2013
DC544 Ensemble Pearl Ensemble Pearl ‎(2xLP, Album) Drag City DC544 US 2013
DC544 Ensemble Pearl Ensemble Pearl ‎(CD, Album, Promo) Drag City DC544 US 2012
DC544 Ensemble Pearl Ensemble Pearl ‎(2xLP, Album, Blu) Drag City DC544 US 2013
DYMC-185 Ensemble Pearl Ensemble Pearl ‎(2xCD, Album) Daymare Recordings DYMC-185 Japan 2013